AFP: Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger unite into a confederation

The leaders of three African countries – Burkina Faso, Mali and Niger – have decided to unite into a confederation, AFP news agency reports.


The agency refers to the document, which includes a provision for the creation of a confederation as part of a drive for “greater integration”.

As ActuNiger writes, the summit of the College of Heads of State of the Alliance of Sahel States (AES) is taking place in the Nigerian capital Niamey on 6 July. This format of cooperation was created on 16 September 2023 following the signing of the “Liptako-Gourma Charter” by the three presidents of the transitional authorities of Niger, Burkina Faso and Mali.

The head of Niger’s ruling National Council for the Defence of the Fatherland (CNSP), General Abdurahmane Chiani, had earlier noted that the peoples of the three AES countries (comprising Niger, Mali, Burkina Faso) had once and for all turned their backs on ECOWAS.